Five Assyrian Australians Receive Community Service Award

  • Written by:

image003Sydney, December 18, 2014
On Tuesday 16 December, 2014, five members of the Assyrian Universal Alliance-Australian Chapter (AUA) and the Young Assyrians of the AUA, were presented with Community Service Awards. The event was organised by Mr Chris Hayes MP, Federal Member for Fowler at Canley Height RSL, in acknowledgement of their efforts and contribution to our local community.

Mr. Hayes mentioned during his welcoming speech “as a local Member of Parliament, I am constantly amazed by the achievements of various individuals in our local community. These people go well beyond what is ordinarily expected of them. They are the unsung heroes of the community but sadly, so many never seem to get the appropriate recognition. My electoral is multicultural and I have great pride in the way we stand and work together to build this country. My position is to go out and recognise all the groups in our community and work with them.”

Mr Hermiz Shahen, Deputy Secretary General of the Assyrian Universal Alliance said that “the Award Presentation Ceremony was a valuable opportunity for our members to meet these exceptional individuals, from different communities to hear their personal stories, and honour their inspirational achievements.

image004This recognition is extremely encouraging in helping members of the community to keep moving forward in doing more for the community. My warm congratulations to all the award recipients of today, including my colleges; Benjamin Jabro, William David, James Jacob, Albert Mooshi and Nirari Shahen of The Young Assyrians of the Assyrian Universal Alliance, who worked hard, each in his own field, for so many years providing services to the Assyrian community in Australia”.
The five Assyrians thanked Mr Hayes for such great honour and for his sincerity and continued support over the past four years in raising the Assyrian issue in the Australian Federal Parliament.

Assyrian Universal Alliance-Australian Chapter
PO Box 34, Fairfield NSW 1860 Australia.